FIFA Women’s World Cup

Female Soccer PlayerFounded in 1904, FIFA, the Federation Internationale de Football Association, is based in Zurich and operates under the mission to improve football (soccer). The international association contains 208 member associations in its governing Congress and employs 310 people from 35 different countries around the world.  Operating much like a government, FIFA’s organization includes a Congress, Executive Committee, General Secretariat, and several special committees, including an Executive Committee.

FIFA is committed to promoting the advancement of women’s football and supports the cause financially and also by providing opportunities for women players—as well as coaches, referees, and officials—to play and work in the field.  Other FIFA goals for women’s football include:

  • Improving the organization of women’s football member associations
  • Popularizing women’s football in schools
  • Improving the quality of the FIFA women’s tournament
  • Creating opportunities for women to be football coaches, referees, medics, and reporters
  • Creating coaching and training classes for females working in football careers
  • Organizing women’s football conferences

Although the FIFA Women’s World Cup Tournament isn’t until next year, FIFA will be hosting two youth tournaments, for women under 20 and women.

The FIFA U-20 Women’s Word Cup 2010 Tournament will take place from July 13-August 1, 2010 in Bochum, Augsburg, Dresden, and Bielefeld, Germany.  Germany is a popular place for women’s football with over one million German girls playing at clubs, and all of these cities except Bielefeld will be hosts for the FIFA Women’s Word Cup in 2011.  Sixteen countries from around the world will be playing in the Women’s U-20 tournament: Nigeria, Ghana, Japan, the Korean Republic and the Korean DPR, Costa Rica, the United States, Mexico, New Zealand, Brazil, Colombia, England, France, Sweden, Switzerland, and Germany.  This tournament has been running since 2002.

The FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup 2010 Tournament will take place from September 5-25, 2010 in Trinidad and Tobago.  Sixteen teams from around the world will play in the tournament and include Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, Japan, the Korean Republic and the Korean DPR, Canada, Mexico, Trinidad and Tobago, New Zealand, Brazil, Venezuela, and Chile.  Trinidad and Tobago became the smallest country to qualify for the FIFA World Cup and is only the second country to host this tournament.  Games will be held in Scarborough, Port of Spain, Couva, Arima/Malabar, and marabella.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: